Christmas Memories

This past Wednesday, I went out to lunch with one of my oldest and dearest friends. Gussie is one of those people who is truly interested in other people’s lives. She always asks me about my children, my husband and my siblings. People don’t do that too much these days. Anyway, she asked about the Christmas traditions I had when I was a child. I remembered how exciting Christmas time was at our home. Like many families, we decorated the house, the tree, shopped for gifts, and had a beautiful Christmas dinner. These memories are precious to me.

I also have many poignant memories. You know the kind. They’re way down inside. A smell, a song, a sound can bring them back as if you were still in that moment. On Christmas eve, my parents would sit at our dining room table making delectable desserts. Ones we had only once a year, at Christmas. I remember the smells of rose water, ground walnuts, and sugar, plenty of sugar; enough to make one comatose. I remember how they used to talk and talk. Their voices were muffled as I lay in my bed listening, but I felt in their tone the love they had for each other and for us. I feel that same love for my own family when I make their favorite cookies and foods.

A more current memory for me was the wonderful gift I received from my children last year; my iPad. My birthday is the day after Christmas and for my gift, they created my quilting blog, title and all. I have really enjoyed writing my posts. They have been a wonderful creative outlet for me. Even though I don’t have a great readership, mostly due to my inability to tag, I am very thankful to those of you who do read my posts and share your comments. It’s a blessing to me.

Have a Merry Christmas and a very happy New Year.

20121207-092015.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

