I Have Resolutions

As every year turns over a new leaf, it somehow brings to mind all of the changes we need to make in our lives. Resolutions to lose weight, stop smoking, learn a new language fill heads. I haven’t made a resolution in years. I tend to be a slacker when it comes to making changes in my life. This year, however, I did make a few resolutions. I decided I need to get out there and pound the pavement. I am one of those women who hate to do anything alone, but I must get out there and walk. So, yesterday I started my walking regimen. I really didn’t mind being alone. It actually allowed me to listen to the sounds of my neighborhood. Lovely!

I have also decided to look for a volunteer project. Most of my adult life I have volunteered. When my children were in school, I volunteered in their classes. Being a former teacher was a bonus for their teachers. I volunteered to chaperone on field trips, volunteered to work in the school library, and I volunteered in the cafeteria. When they went away to college, I became a student mentor for the Broward County school system. I haven’t volunteered for several years, but now I would like to get back into helping my community.

I’ve decided to take a short break from quilting. I think everyone should take a “vacation” from something they love doing, otherwise it becomes a drudge. I am, however, working on the crazy quilt blocks I made. I love the embroidery and embellishments. It allows me to be creative, and I can’t help but think about the women of the Victorian era who designed these magnificent works of art. Maybe I was one in another life.

Whatever your resolutions are, I wish you the best of luck in achieving them. Happy New Year.

20130111-133808.jpg

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

