My Guilty Pleasure

20130215-171353.jpg

 

Many of us have guilty pleasures.   For some, it’s the chocolate they hide way in the back of the cabinet.  For others, it’s dancing around the house when no one is at home.  My guilty pleasure is watching British period pieces.   For example, I’ve probably watched “Pride and Prejudice,”  “Sense and Sensibility,” and “Emma” so many times, I’m embarrassed to say.  Last year I discovered “Downton Abbey” which takes place at the turn of the twentieth century.   I really love it.  Sometimes my husband will come home from work and catch me, yet again, watching one of my period pieces.   He says he thinks I lived during that time in another life.

A common thread in these films is the handwork that the women do.  For example, whatever they’re up to, if a caller comes they all sit down and pull out their embroidery hoops.  As if that’s all they did all day long.  For them, embroidery was a beautiful art, that when finished, decorated their homes.   How lovely, and I love to embroider.

In one of my previous posts, I showed you a crazy quilt block I was working on.   I have finished my four blocks and decided to make them into a pillow.  I think the outcome is very nice, and I am actually considering I might enter it into the quilt show coming up in March.   I’ll let you know if I do.  Who knows, maybe I’ll win a prize.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

